Sponsored by the AIRR Community

Can I use MiXCR on incomplete IgH BCR?

Hi all,

I am new to BCR seq. and we are going to use multiplex PCR protocol to detect incomplete IgH(D-J) and by Illumina Hiseq 150*2 in B-ALL patients. Since we are amplifying BCR (DNA) without V segment, can I still use MiXCR to process the data? If yes, which parameters I must use in the alignment?

Previously I just have used 5RACE method and RNA as input for the BCR seq.

Thank you very much!

1 Like

MIXCR can fetch data from incomplete reads and assemble clonotypes, for example in case of RNA-Seq. However the assumption is that you deal with “canonical” rearrangements and all trimmed/missing V-segments are due to read coverage. The problem in your case is that MIXCR will only align D segment if both V and J were found, as D segment alignments are tricky. So for IGHD-IGHJ the answer is no. You can make a feature request at MIXCR/Issues.

As for your dataset, I can recommend Vidjil software that is optimized for handling incomplete rearrangements and cancer data, the list of supported events and loci is here.

1 Like

You may not be interested in different softwares, but getting partis to work on a sample that was about 2/3 DJ-only rearrangements ended up just entailing adding whatever’s 5’ of D in the DJ-only sequences as new germline V genes to the germline V file. Happy to send details if you’re interested.

Thank you very much!

yes please, I would love to learn more about the software.

The manual is hopefully self-contained, and it has links to the two papers.